Bedrooms For Foster Children

So I am trying to think up ways to decorate my foster kids bedrooms.  I had thought I was the only one truly concerned with this but after visiting several forums where people are asking the same questions I decided to address the issue.

Herein lies the problem.  You don’t always know what gender or what age range of child you are going to receive.  In homes with narrow intake qualifications, this is less of a problem.  In an emergency home, like mine, you can get any age, any gender, any time.  Originally I though the best way to handle this would be to have one girls room and one boys room and one baby room since we have three rooms available. Well with now having a permanent child, we are down to only two rooms to work with.  And what happens if we get 4 boys?

You would think that decorating gender neutral would be a good idea with the exception of one problem.  The gender neutral stuff is ugly.  Like really ugly.  So I am at a loss as to how to decorate.  I want the rooms to  be fun not plain old white with “grandma-themed” bedspreads.  Our kids rooms look more like a hotel then an inviting personal space.

So I am now on the search for gender neutral, not ugly, welcoming, and all age-appropriate bedroom designs.  If anyone has insight or ideas, this lady would totally welcome them.

Leave a Reply

